A membership entitles you to use the website for a certain period, for example 30 days. You can cancel your membership at any time during this period.
After you've cancelled you'll still have access to the website for the entire time you paid for until the billing cycle ends. Cancelling your account simply stops future charges. Website access will be denied only after your paid access period has expired